Obsessions Become Lesson Plans

Lately I have been somewhat obsessed with Molly The Owl and we’ve even watched Molly a few times in some of my classes. I’m currently planning some lessons for a few of the grades about owls. I am also going to try to contact Carlos about doing something with my 7th Grade class who study Life Science and dissect owl pellets. Here’s some of what I’m working on – each class will do some of these.

  • Life cycle of an Owl
  • Food chain and how it relates to the owl
  • Vocabulary related to owls: brood, owlet, talon, raptor, nocturnal, pellet
  • Drawing (or coloring) an owl picture
  • Owl Math – some math activities using owls
  • Research types of owls and creating a spreadsheet of findings
  • Virtual Owl Pellet Dissection

Just so you can become obsessed too, here’s the feed of The Owl Box:

Live Broadcast by Ustream.TV

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *